Aatul Palandurkar

Data Types in Java

Posted on: October 17, 2011

In Java there are total 8 data types available which are further divided into 4 groups viz. integers, floating point numbers, character & boolean values.


Size in Bytes (Bits)


Default value


Byte 1 byte (8 bits) -128 to 127 0 Signed Integer
Short 2 bytes

(16 bits)

-32768 to 32767 0 Signed Integer
Int 4 bytes

(32 bits)

-2147483648 to 2147483647 0 Signed Integer
Long 8 bytes

(64 bits)

-9223372036854775808 to 9223372036854775807 0 Signed Integer
Floating point numbers
Float 4 bytes

(32 bits)

-3.4e38 to 3.4e38

(i.e. 3.4*1017)

0.0 IEEE754 Floating point number
Double 8 bytes

(64 bits)

-1.7e308 to 1.7e308

(i.e. 1.7*10151)

0.0 IEEE754 Floating point number
char 2 bytes

(16 bits)

\u0000 to \uFFFF \u0000 Unicode Characters
Boolean values
boolean 1 bit Not Applicable False true or false

Table : Data Types in Java


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13,208 other followers




%d bloggers like this: